All about our Municipalty
A directory of businesses in the Municipal area
Information for the tourist visiting our Municipal area
Information for the potential investor in our Municipality
The various ways to contact the Municipality
all the online services the Municipality provides
Links to government and business web sites
Information pertaining to Prieska
Information pertaining to Marydale
Information pertaining to Niekerkshoop
(SiyaThemba is a Xhosa word for “we believe”)

PO Box 16, Prieska, 8940 Victoria Street, Prieska, 8940 Tel: (053) 353 5300, Fax: (053) 353 1386,

Towns within the municipal boundaries:

Brakbos, Brulpoort, Draghoender, Koegas, Marydale, Niekerkshoop, Prieska, Shamleys Farm, Uitvlug, Westerberg.

Municipal Demarcation Board Code: NC077

Location of Head Office: Prieska is 123 km north-west of Britstown (N10) abd 163 km north of Carnarvon (R386)

Municipal Area (km²): 8 251.41

Contributes to: Karoo District Municipality

Municipal Budget: 2003/2004 Operating =R1 211 668,00
2003/2004 Capital = R6 414 600,00

Population: Total 19 360 – African 2 716; Colored 14 382; Indian 23; White 2 086; Other 153

Number of Households: 4 542

Employment by Main Industries: Farming 1 974; Mining 29;

Manufacturing 79; Utilities 26; Construction 313; Trade 423; Transport 169; Business Services 124; Social Services 827

Educational Institutions: 12 Schools

Medical Facilities:

Bill Pickard Hospital, Martha Bishop Clinic, Marydale Clinic, Niekerkshoop Clinic, Prieska Clinic.

Police Stations: Marydale, Niekerkshoop, Prieska

Law Court: Prieska

Agricultural Activities: Sheep, wheat, maize, Lucerne, cotton, beans, vineyards and peanuts.

Information | Site Map | Webmaster